Home » Intraday Trading » Navigating house ownership with Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Navigating house ownership with Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana


Affordable housing is a dream of innumerable people living in urban and rural areas alike. There are government schemes that attempt to make housing solutions a reality for several people. 

One such government initiative is PM Awas Yojana (PMAY) which began in 2015. In this article, we aim to educate you on the PM Awas Yojana (PMAY) scheme together with its types, eligibility, beneficiaries and process to fulfil your dream of affordable housing. 

What is Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY)?

The PM Awas Yojna (PMAY) is a government initiative to provide affordable housing opportunities to the urban poor by 2024. The scheme began in the year 2015 and begins at an interest rate of 6.50% p.a.for a tenure of up to 20 years. 

While earlier the government aimed to provide housing by the end of March 2022, it has now been extended based on the request of Union Territories and States until 31 December 2024. Some of the highlights of this scheme are its low interest rates, preferential ground floor allocations for senior citizens and differently-abled individuals, Pan India coverage, and early credit-linked PM Awas Yojana subsidy

These factors together make it a valuable scheme for all seeking housing at affordable prices. 

Types of PM Awas Yojana

There are two subcategories within the  PM Awas Yojna based on the area they focus on. Let us look at them in detail: 

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin

Earlier known as Indira Awas Yojana, PM Gramin Awas Yojana aims to provide affordable housing to eligible people in the rural areas of India, excluding Delhi and Chandigarh. 

The cost of providing houses is distributed between the Government of India and the respective state governments in the ratio of 60:40 for all plain regions and in the ratio of 90:10 for the northeastern as well as hilly regions. 

Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Urban

As suggested by the name, PM Awas Yojana scheme is more focused on housing solutions in the urban areas of India. A total of 4,331 towns and cities are categorised under this scheme. Additionally, this scheme is further divided into three distinct parts: 

  • Phase 1: Operational from April 2015 to March 2017, the government aimed to cover 100 cities in the state and union territories. 
  • Phase 2: Operational from April 2017 to March 2019, the government aimed to cover 200 cities in the state and union territories. 
  • Phase 3: Operational till the end of December 2024, the government aimed to cover all the locations left out during phases 1 and 2. 

Who are the beneficiaries of PMAY? 

There are broadly four beneficiaries of the PM Awas Yojna: 

Income groupsAnnual income
Middle Income Group I (MIG I) Rs.6 lakh to Rs.12 lakh
Middle Income Group I (MIG II) Rs.12 lakh to Rs.18 lakh
Lower Income Group (LIG)Rs.3 lakh to Rs.6 lakh
Economically Weaker Section (EWS)Up to Rs.3 lakh

Additionally, women and people from SC, ST, and OBC categories are also eligible to avail of the benefits of this scheme.

However, it must be noted that only people from the EWS category can avail of all the benefits of the scheme, while people from the LIG category are only eligible for the Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) under  PM Awas Yojna. Additionally, people must submit an affidavit as income proof for the LIG or EWS category. 

How to apply for PM Awas Yojana?

Individuals who qualify for the requirements set by the scheme can apply via the PMAY portal at https://pmaymis.gov.in. The PM Awas Yojana applying process is extremely easy to understand. All you have to do is enter your Aadhaar number, follow the instructions displayed on the screen to finish the registration process and submit your PM Awas yojana form

In case, you need to edit your details after the submission, enter your application and Aadhaar number and click on the edit option to change any details you want. 

Finally, you can check the status of your application on the portal by navigating to the tracking option for the PM Awas Yojana list. 

Documents required for PMAY

The documents required for salaried individuals include: 

  • Proof of identity such as an Aadhaar Card, Voter ID Card, etc. 
  • A PAN card is mandatory
  • Address proof (valid passport, Voter ID Card, Aadhaar Card, life insurance plan, residence address certificate, or utility bills)
  • Proof of income (6 months’ bank statement, or last 2-month salary slip and ITR)
  • Property documents  

The documents required for self-employed individuals include:

  • Address proof of business (trade license certificate, Shops and Establishment Certificate, PAN Card or VAT registration certificate, Partnership Deed, etc.)
  • Proof of income (Profit & Loss and Balance Sheet or ITR)

Banks supporting PM Awas Yojana

Finally, let us have a look at the top 10 banks that support the PM Awas Yojana. These include Bank of Baroda, State Bank of India, Axis Bank, IDFC First Bank, Bandhan Bank, Bank of India, HDFC Bank, IDBI Bank, Punjab National Bank and Canara Bank. Individuals can connect with any of these banks to avail the services of the PM Awas Yojana. 


The Government of India has various initiatives to support the well-being of the lower-income group and assist them in progressing. With the PM Awas Yojana, it becomes simpler for lower-income groups to get affordable housing solutions. There are different schemes for the assistance of different sections of the population. 

Being aware of your rights is important to ensure that you make the best use of the government policies and move towards progress. You can log into the portal and register for the scheme for affordable housing solutions. To know more about such government schemes, stay tuned to StockGro!


What is the time frame for getting a subsidy amount from PMAY?

The usual time taken to get PM Awas yojana subsidy is 3-4 months. However, this is subject to the verification done by the government. 

Are women included in PM Awas Yojana eligibility? 

Yes, women can apply and are also given priority if they are running a family. However, keep in mind that if the husband or father has already applied for the scheme then the application will be rejected. 

What is the duration of the PMAY project?

The last date announced for the scheme currently is December 2024. However, the actual construction and moving in of the eligible people might take longer than the given time. 

What is the maximum income eligibility of PMAY? 

The maximum income to be eligible for the scheme is 18 lakhs and there is no minimum limit of PMAY. 

Is there a PM awas yojana registration cost? 

There is an application fee of Rs 25 applied plus service tax applied at the Common Service Centres. However, there is no application fee for online applications.

Enjoyed reading this? Share it with your friends.

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *